HomeTechnologyPrincess of Asturias Award to scientists who have contributed...

Princess of Asturias Award to scientists who have contributed to the treatment of resistant bacteria

The 2023 Princess of Asturias Award for Scientific Research was awarded this Wednesday to American scientists Jeffrey Gordon, Everett Peter Greenberg and Bonnie Lynn Bassler for research that contributed to the development of treatments against resistant bacteria and antibiotics.

The award jury, in a statement, stressed that the discoveries of the three scientists (two biologists and a biochemist) “are enabling innovative therapeutic applications and the search for new effective treatments against resistant bacteria and antibiotics.”

Jeffrey Gordon, according to the same statement, “was a pioneer in the discovery and understanding of the human microbiome, that is, in thethe immense quantity and diversity of microorganisms that live in the bodywith an essential role in health, including metabolism, immune response and nutrition.

Everett Peter Greenberg and Bonnie Lynn Bassler “revealed unprecedented communication mechanisms between bacteria, which emit chemical signals that modulate their collective behavior,” reads the statement, released by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, the Spanish entity that awards this award.

Eight Princess of Asturias Awards are awarded each year, which distinguish the “scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work” carried out by people or institutions at an international level.

Each prize consists of a sculpture by the Spanish painter and sculptor Joan Miró, endowed with 50,000 euros, a diploma and a badge, delivered in a solemn ceremony with the Spanish royal family, in Oviedo, Spain, in October.

The award given to biologists Jeffrey Gordon and Everett Peter Greenberg and biochemist Bonnie Lynn Bassler it was the seventh decided this yearin what is the 43rd edition of these awards.

The non-governmental organization Medicines for Neglected Diseases Initiative received the Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, the Japanese writer Haruki Murakami o das Letras; Kenyan marathon runner Eliud Kipchoge for Sports; French historian Hélène Carrère d’Encausse from Social Sciences; the Italian professor, writer and philosopher Nuccio Ordine for Communication and Humanities and the American actress Meryl Streep for Arts.

Next week the Concordia award will be decided.

Source: Observadora

- Advertisement -

Worldwide News, Local News in London, Tips & Tricks

- Advertisement -